A Conundrum of Sorts

What does it look like to be brave? What does it look like to have courage?

I’m wrestling with these very thoughts as I walk the streets of Iraq for the very first time these first few days. My corner of Iraq is nothing like what I expected…but yet everything that it should be. Dusty mountains against a crystal-blue sky dot the horizon…except when the wind swirls the dust all through the air, clouding the sky. Colorful, flashing lights and signs top street corners and buildings. Busy streets filled with people of all colors, dress, and language. Modern café and gelato shops touting free wifi are just blocks away from beautiful shops filled with Middle Eastern paintings, huge urns filled with exotic dried fruits and roasted nuts, and hand-woven baskets spilling over with spices in the brightest and most brilliant shades of reds, oranges, blues, yellows.

When telling others about my upcoming time in Iraq, the phrase I heard most often was “Wow. You must be really brave. That’s not an easy place…I’ll be praying for you!” While I CERTAINLY need your prayers…this really shook me. As I look around at this place and her people, and then at myself, I don’t see bravery. Obedience to a calling? Yes. But bravery? Friends, I look around me and see bravery like I have never had to display in the faces of each and every person I see. Iraqis who have had their lives devastated by wars, corruption, and poverty…but who live each day with a smile on their face. They have picked themselves up, and have kept on going. I see bravery in the parents who bring their weak, broken-hearted children to our doctors, who after hearing the risks and hardships that accompany each procedure, give everything in them to provide their precious little one a chance at hope…a chance for life. I see bravery in the faces of the Iraqi surgeons attempting these complicated heart surgeries in a country where this type of medical care is seldom seen. These surgeons who go to any length to heal a precious child’s heart. I see the faces of the children undergoing these life-altering procedures, most of them old enough to know exactly what the procedure and recovery process will entail. And I see them accept it will open, willing arms…bravery stamped right on their foreheads.

You see, my friends, Iraq is brave. She’s growing, struggling, shaking, and finding her foothold once again. In the three days I have been here, I have learned much from what she has to offer, and I know this is only a glimpse of what is to come. Iraq is beautiful and a sort of cultural conundrum, but I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that Iraq is brave. And my hope and prayer is that I will learn to be brave right along with her…and her people.

IMG_1859

6 thoughts on “A Conundrum of Sorts

  1. Such a meaningful post. Your words have depth and truth. I am so thankful you are in Iraq to help bind their wounds and show them light. I will continue to pray for you and all that you touch in that most diverse landscape.

  2. Undeniably believe that that you said. Your favourite justification seemed to be on the web the simplest factor to be aware of.
    I say to you, I definitely get annoyed whilst folks
    think about concerns that they just don’t recognize about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the top as smartly as defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , other people can take a signal. Will likely be again to get more. Thanks

  3. I’ve been browsing on-line more than three hours lately, but I by no means discovered any attention-grabbing article like yours. It’s beautiful price sufficient for me.
    In my view, if all website owners and bloggers made just
    right content material as you did, the web will be much more helpful than ever before.

  4. I found your blog via Freshly Pressed but I was quite pleasantly shocked and surprised! Besides sharing the same name (I’m a Meredith too!) we also share the same idea of doing good in the world. Oh and spending time in the Middle East, although your experience is definitely more adventurous and meaningful (I’ve spent some time in Egypt, where my husband is from) 🙂 Anyways you’ve got a new follower in me!

Leave a Reply

